A Postcard

h

‘I got your postcard
Thanks a lot


I’ve been doing a lot of thinking
And cycling
The weather has improved
And the deer are everywhere again
They have grown much
And there are so many new ones
And I spent much time looking at the symbols
On the postcard
In the end I took it to the Japanese café
In your neighbourhood
And asked Haruki to tell me
What the whole thing meant
And he said:
‘it means thank you!’
That made me so happy!
We had tea together
And cakes
He offered me warm sake
I accepted
Have been dreaming vividly
Midnight summer dreams
Cycling all around the park
All around the park

Leave a Reply

